PANIER

VIOLETTE
STEHLI

Bijou de bouche Oursin de Mer
Bijou de bouche Oursin de Mer

€220,00

Un bijou de bouche en vermeil orné de pics d’oursin (Colobocentrotus atratus).

Les oursins et leurs fossiles ont fait usage des talismans pendant des siècles. Ils ont été trouvés dans des tombeaux de l’age de bronze, ils était précieusement conservés par les prêtres égyptiens, les vikings croyaient quels étaient jetés sur terre par le dieu Thor, et jusque dans les années 1900 ils étaient utilises dans les iles britanniques comme des amulettes censées protéger de la noyade.

Leurs capacités à vivre dans des eaux tourmentées et leurs pics protecteurs sculpturaux font d’eux des exemples parfaits de créatures ayant su se developper de manière saisissante malgré un environnement souvent inhospitalier.

Les bijoux de bouche sont des parures qui ont existé à travers les époques et les continents. On peut en trouver des exemples variés allant des tribunes anciennes en Alaska, aux civilizations Méso-américaines, et à travers le continent Africain. Ces ornements ont pu avoir des objectifs purement décoratifs, mais ils ont également servi à signaler le statut social, la bravoure guerrière ou la dévotion religieuse de ceux qui les portaient.

Le bijou de bouche Oursin s’inscrit de manière contemporaine dans cette tradition de bijoux, tout en rendant homage à ces petits échinoïdes dont la force et la résilience devraient nous servir d’inspiration dans notre vie quotidienne.

Veuillez consulter notre guide des tailles pour vous assurer que la bague vous conviendra

Des questions? Une demande particulière pour votre bijou? Dites nous tout ici :)

Vermeil
Argent
Acheter

You might also like:

Skip to product information
1 of 1

Sea Urchin Lip Cuff

Sea Urchin Lip Cuff

Regular price €220,00 EUR
Regular price Sale price €220,00 EUR
Sale Sold out
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.
Material

A gold vermeil mouth ornament augmented with sea urchin spines (Colobocentrotus atratus).

Sea urchins and their fossils have been used as protective talismans for centuries. They have been found in bronze age burial chambers, were treasured by Egyptian priests, the Norse believed they were dropped onto the Earth by the god Thor, and they were used as charms against drowning up until the 1900’s in certain parts of the British Isles.

With their capacity to inhabit areas with extreme water velocities as well as their sculptural protective spines, they are a testament to the capacities of species to evolve their own forms of resilience and protection.

Mouth jewelry has been worn across continents and throughout all of human history. Labrets, tooth jewelry and lip plates can be found everywhere from the ancient tribes of coastal Alaska, to Mezoamerican civilizations and throughout the African continent. These adornments have ranged from status symbols, to purely aesthetic objects, to ritual pieces meant to signify devotion to certain deities, to objects used to indicate the fierceness of a warrior.

The Sea Urchin Lip Cuff is an attempt to make manifest the strengths of sea urchin species so that we too may use them to our advantage. It is a piece of resolutely modern jewelry that draws inspiration from ancient mouth adornments in a bid to maintain this fascinating tradition.

The Sea Urchin Lip Cuff is available in in Responsible Jewelry Council certified sterling silver or 24 karat gold vermeil.

View full details